Sunday, 3 May 2009

Baghdad Batteries tracklist

Seminal UK ambient outfit The Orb are set to release their new LP, Baghdad Batteries in July. 

Widely credited as a driving force behind the early '90s chill out and ambient house movements, the group has existed in various different formats during their two decade life span, with founding member Dr Alex Paterson remaining the only consistent player throughout. Baghdad Batteries heralds the reunification of Paterson and long-term collaborator Thomas Fehlmann who last sparred together on 2005's Okie Dokie It's the Orb on Kompakt. 

The album will be the third in the Orbsessions series for UK imprint Malicious Damage, although whereas the previous two entries were comprised of "nuggets trawled from the vaults," the latest offering will be composed of brand new material recorded at Fehlmann's Berlin studio. So how does it sound? Expect a "subterranean house pulse beamed up from the Earth's core, resulting in a new form of space disco which sounds as old as time itself while brushed with the most future-pointed minimal techno shadows," and you'll be somewhere close. 

01. Styrofoam Meltdown
02. Chocolate Fingers
03. Baghdad Batteries
04. Raven's Reprise
05. Dolly Unit
06. Super Soakers
07. Suburban Smog
08. Orban Tumbleweed
09. Pebbles
10. Woodlarking
11. OOPA

Malicious Damage will release Baghdad Batteries by The Orb on July 6, 2009.

Taken from
Resident Advisor web site. Thanks to Aaron Miles for info.

No comments:

Post a Comment